SPE Announces Winners of Annual Thermoforming Conference Parts Competition

plastics industry news

BETHEL, CT, U.S.A., October 3, 2014: The Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE) has announced the winners of the SPE Thermoforming Division annual parts competition.

plastics industry news
SPE Announces Winners of Annual Thermoforming Conference Parts Competition –

The awards were presented during the Thermoforming Division’s annual conference, held last month in Schaumburg, IL. They were presented in eleven categories as well as in a student parts competition. One of the category winners also received the Peoples’ Choice award based on a poll of attendees. The categories and winners are:

● Heavy Gauge Twin Sheet — Gold / “Peoples’ Choice”. Associated Thermoforming, Inc., for the “Bowling Pin Elevator.”

● Roll Fed Food – Gold. Lindar Corporation, for the “Simply Secure Tamper Obvious Two Piece Package.”

● Roll Fed Industrial – Gold. think4D, for the “Gillette Venus Snap Trap Blister Pack.”

● Roll Fed Industrial – Silver. Innovative Plastech, Inc., for the “Grocery Refrigerator Tray.”

plastic industry india● Heavy Gauge Vacuum Form – Gold. Associated Thermoforming, Inc., for the “Durabin.”

● Heavy Gauge Pressure Form – Gold. Associated Thermoforming, Inc., for the “Medical Smoke Evacuator Enclosure.”

● Heavy Gauge Pressure Form – Silver. Saint-Gobain PPL, for the “Adept Technology Robot Enclosure.”

● Heavy Gauge Twin Sheet – Silver. Profile Plastics, for the “Rescue Backboard.”

● Combined Recycled – Gold. Universal Protective Packaging, Inc., for the “Geospring End Cap Protective Packaging.”

● Combined Value Added Assembly – Gold. Specialty Manufacturing Inc., for the “Large Medical Device Assembly.”

● Combined Innovative – Gold. CW Thomas, LLC, for the “Airline Seat Pocket Assembly.”

Six finalists were named in the Student Parts Competition. The student winners are:

First Prize: Jerrold Ancheta, San Jose State University, who received a $1,000 award for the “Vacuum Form Transradial Prosthesis.”

Second Prize: Madeline Freding, University of Washington / Stout, who received a $500 award for the “Re-Form.”

“The SPE Thermoforming Division is extremely pleased with the quality and quantity of submissions for this year’s Parts Competition,” noted Steve Zamprelli, 2014 Parts Competition Chair. “Twenty-five parts were entered in the competition, including a number of submissions from first-time participants and one from India.”

More information is available at www.thermoformingdivision.com or lesley@openmindworks.com.